Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Blues for Greenie

This morning I heard a bump on the window. I went out to look but didn't see anything so assumed that whatever little bird had hit the window had been able to fly off. A little while later, Marian was hanging out some washing and when I looked down from the deck, I could see a bird lying prone behind a bench. It looked like a green woodpecker. I thought a small bird had hit our window but clearly it was a larger bird that had collided with the glass balustrade on the stairs going down to the garden.

Such a shame, it's clearly a young bird going by the mottled breast. I thought it would be interesting to look at the details of the plumage. The main blip is of the wing feathers and the first extra is of the red plumage on its head. The second extra was taken a couple of days ago in my neighbours garden, it may be the same little chap but I think it looks more like an adult.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.