esiuol

By esiuol

Afternoon in Edinburgh

As my husband was driving to Edinburgh to see a friend, I took the opportunity to go through and visit some galleries. It was the last day of the 197th RSA Annual Exhibition at the gallery on Princes Street so I started there.
I then walked to the Museum of Modern Art noticing a wonderful garden (main blip), over a wall with the roofs of Dean Village behind.
Had a quick bite to eat in the cafe in Modern Two then a wander round the exhibits. My favourite piece in Modern Two, wass ‘Tourists’, 1970, by Duane Hanson (1925-1996). It is so lifelike and made me smile. I also thought it is very apt for Edinburgh at the start of the summer festival season with the many tens of thousands of tourists that will be arriving soon.
Next I headed across the road to Modern One and had a good wander there before sitting in the sun in the garden until my lift came by to take me home again. Sometimes it is nice to have an afternoon looking at art just by oneself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.