Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Pouring!

Well it has rained a bit overnight, but it had stopped by the time I got up. We headed out to church as I was serving, doing prayers and assisting with the chalice. A good selection of hymns again today.
We had thought of going down to Dolphinton after lunch to see the garden which blipper Nadinepierce had written about but sadly we believed the dreadful weather forecast, which was in fact wrong! I won't fall for that again. 90% chance of rain it said. We sat in the garden most of the afternoon.
I looked out of the window this evening at 9.30 pm and said to Colin, "Oh look its rained after all". Then, on closer inspection of the one droplet I could see, I realised it most likely came from this cuckoo spit! Ah well.
I did achieve though, and in no small way. I noticed wax on the carpet at church so grabbed the church iron and some paper towels and set to work removing it. That's half an hour I'll never get back! While working on the wax, I noticed that Mr/Mrs Nobody had used it at too high a temperature on a fabric which had melted onto the sole plate. There was a thick black mess over about a third of the ironing surface. I brought it home with me and set to work on it. It took me over an hour to get it all cleaned off, and two finger nails! Then just to make sure I hadn't left any cleaner or anything in the steam vents, I ironed around 20 hankies! No idea where they all came from. Mr/Mrs Nobody better not do that again I can tell you.
I was obviously in full on cleaning mode by now, so I decided to use one of the five cans of oven cleaner which I had found in my cleaning box. (FIVE! I obviously have lots of good intentions when out shopping but fail on the follow through!) I even took the shelf supports out and put the shelves through the dish washer. The oven took two applications and then some scraping work with a knife. It's not perfect but it's at least, a bit more respectable for a while. I dream of treating myself to a proper oven clean one day but have difficulty justifying the expense. I'd rather have use the money for a nice meal out
By the way I forgot to mention that I had a Chinese takeaway last night, sweet and sour chicken Cantonese style, little chewing needed for that. My range of safe dietary textures is improving. Back to macaroni cheese tonight though, I do vary the cheese in the sauce and the range of things I add to it. Tonight was garlic, shallots, mushroom and tomato, with homemade rhubarb fool for dessert. Yummy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.