Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Orchid Simplicity

I noticed that my RHS membership gave me free parking and entry to The Savill Garden in June, so never being one to miss out on a "freebie" I headed over to take advantage of the offer.

The gardens were looking wonderful, as usual, though one had to keep an eye out for the water sprinklers out in force and time it nicely to avoid getting "rained" on. Although with the temperatures today that may not have been a bad thing!

The flowers in the Summer Garden still have some growing to do, but the purple salvia were looking glorious and the bees where having a field day on them. I even spotted what looked like a caterpillar, but on further research it seems this may be a ladybird larva. A triptych of shots can be found in extras.

As is now common in most places, much of the grassed areas have been left wild and to my delight common spotted orchids were everywhere.  To reflect the simple theme of today's Mono Monday challenge, I accordingly converted a macro shot of a single stem to B&W.

I would have liked to stay longer and perhaps take walk around the wider estate, but the heat and hayfever was getting a bit much, so it was an earlyish return home for a cooling drink next to the tinkling fountain of the garden pond ... bliss!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.