A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

NHS Snakes & Ladders

I had an X-Ray of my right knee today. I know it needs replacing, I was told by a consultant surgeon in early May. It was confirmed by an x-ray back then but because it was not with the NHS I need to start at square one again. 

The Friarage Hospital here in Northallerton made short work of the x-rays, I was in and out before my allotted appointment. 

The next stage was due to be in September with the MSK unit for an assessment by the physio. This was cancelled because they felt an orthopaedic consultant needed to give an opinion. That appointment is next week!

Whatever comes from that visit I'm fully aware my BMI is too high for the NHS to consider a replacement knee. Whether I will be even placed on the waiting list now, with the hope I reduce my BMI or I need to achieve that first before going on it I will still have at least a 12 month wait.

What is strange about all this I could have the replacement done privately by the same surgeon, the same replacement joint at the same hospital within a few weeks. Go figure... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.