Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Yellow Rattle

I chose to walk back up the hill last Sunday, so I could walk down the recently planted meadow towards the top of Mill Moor.  I think it busted have been planted as part of the Countryside Scheme because Yellow Rattle is usually planted to deter more dominant grasses.  For me this kind of planting is what farmers should be taking part in.  This would never have been very productive land as it's the site of a former open-cast coal mine.  With this kind of planting we get the best of both worlds - grazing for animals and food for pollinators.  I think, and I do say think, there was a Hummingbird Moth on one of the plants - I didn't have the best lens on the camera for insect photography (and anyway my card was fll) , nor did I have my binoculars, so I made an attempt with my phone, just for the record.  There was also a small yellow moth flying but it never settled - so no chance of a photo.  The next time I go up there I might drive up and take a longer lens.  Having said that, they were stripping the old tarmac off the top of the road yesterday (Monday), so the only place to leave my car will be the lay-by on the A629).

p.s. the very hot weather continues, for the most part I stayed inside yesterday apart from walking to the post box.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.