Kipsie

By Kipsie

All that glitters...

In no particular order.. .. Crepis polymorpha - Beaked hawk's-beard, Hieracium -?, Sonchus oleraceus - Smooth sow-thistle, Lapsana communism - Nipplewort. Those are my idents but I'm not 100%. I bought the Rev. W. Keble Martin's The New Concise British Flora many years ago, loving the illustrations, this is my go to for reference. I now wish that I'd studied a bit harder at school, then perhaps I would have worked with plants from an early age.
These wildflowers plus many more 2023 newbies spotted on the Warwicks Loop.
I was on the plot by 6am, yet another tomato plant damaged, not pheasant though, possibly a small bird landing on the top young growth, snapping it. I gave everything a thorough watering this morning, then I proceeded to add more protection to the tomato plants. Cut another lovely colourful bunch of anemones for Mum, pulled rhubarb to poach for breakfast topping, had a quick chat with Stuart & Jackie when they arrived about 8ish. I left French bean seed for Jackie which she has already popped in the ground.
A brisk walk with Indie this morning as it was heating up early. Mum & I sat outside with our coffee. I took the nest box down for us to look inside. Such a beautiful cosy moss/dog hair nest, beneath which was a small zip lock bag containing instructions for nest box placement. Obviously not required by moi as we had resident Bluetits, which Mum sadly did'nt see fledge.
I tied in the recently planted evergreen Clematis armandii. Mum is fixated on the glossy green leaves, which will soon clothe the fencing trellis.
It's been a scorcher.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.