Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Margie and the boy in the fountain

I met Margie in the afternoon this week because she was too tired last Wednesday when we met in the morning. Instead of drinking coffee, we got scoops of coffee flavored ice cream and sat in the sunshine watching a boy play in the fountain at Jamison Square, where I often took Evan and Bella when they were younger. 

Margie: I love watching that boy play in the water. I think I had that kind of energy and balance once. He’s getting his clothes all wet, and I can almost feel it, but I don’t have to deal with being cold and then having to take off my wet things and figure out where to hang them. I'd rather watch that boy.

Later she asked me, as she does just about every week, what I did for a living. Did I work with children his age? I told her I taught theatre to college students, and she marveled, “I would never have guessed that about you. College professors are stuck up and snobbish, but you’re not like that. I guess that’s why you keep it a secret.”

I thought we had a delightful afternoon, but I got a text from Margie an hour after I arrived back home, saying, “I’m afraid afternoons don’t work too well for me.” Maybe she was overtired by the sunshine and the walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.