GenuineBlip

By GenuineBlip

Packin’

Back at our apartment in Bologna, we’re switching gears from experiencing Italy to starting the several stage process to getting back to life at home in Santa Cruz. Today is ‘Packing Day”, At least a couple of hours are dedicated to packing the bikes. Well, it takes ME that long! One cannot just disassemble the bike and toss it in the case. It takes time to get it to fit and fit well, so that nothing gets bent or broken when it’s tossed around by the airline workers. I still need to follow the step by step instructions which I have downloaded on my ipad. It’s a relief when the case closes and everything is tucked inside. The rest of the luggage is a bit tighter and fuller than the flight out. To lighten the load just a tad, a few items won’t make the return trip. One casualty are my sneakers, they aren’t coming home because I had to make room for the 2 pairs of shoes I bought in Italy (extra). I think I was channeling Imelda Marcos…I was traveling with 5 pairs of shoes. FIVE! But, one needs the right shoe for every activity…1) Bike shoes for biking, 2) Keen sandals for hot weather hiking/walking. 3) Sneakers for lots of walking (some running)…these were essentially supplanted by 4) the waterproof Italian made Scarpa hikers for lots of walking in the rain (and snow). A must-buy for the weeks of rain and alpine hiking. 5) Spanish Opera shoes for the Sicilian opera….another ‘must buy’ as neither my Keens nor sneakers were going to cut it with my elegante black dress. Then there is actually a 6th pair…I wore the booties that cover my bike shoes in the pouring rain more than I would have liked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.