Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Going for a drive

I took a notion after lunch. It's a while since I've just gone for a drive. Okay, the broken elbow cramped my style for the best part of two months, but even so I've tended to just stay at home. Too much. Out you go, DS.

I pointed the car northward on the M1 without any clear idea of where I'd end up. After a bit the idea of going to Ardgillan Castle popped into my head, so that became the mission. First, though, I opted for a route which took me to Balrothery (a spot which used be on the main road to Belfast before the M1 was built). Back then, the Balrothery straight was notorious as an accident black spot. Now Balrothery is an attractive spot to stop and stretch the legs and whatever. I wet my whistle at the Balrothery Inn before hitting the road again.

Ardgillan Castle (and Demesne) isn't a destination I'd often think of, and I/m not sure I'll return for a bit. Not until the reconstruction work is finished anyway. It was pleasant to sit on the grass and watch everyone else work their way down to the castle itself. I just sat there and did nothing for forty-fine minutes or so.

Ardgillan is close to Balbriggan, where one of the music-group guys live. That's now the only reason I go there, but way back in the dim and distant past I'd go there fairly often with some neighbours for a music gig on a Sunday morning. Ah, memories. Anyway, I decided to return home via Balbriggan. As I neared the centre of town I spotted a sign for the harbour and decided to have a look. Then I saw a group of people making their way through a narrow opening under the railway viaduct. I followed them and found my self on Balbiggan beach for the first time ever. I sat on my little portable seat for a bit (not too long, because the seat was gradually sinking further and further into the sand).

The whole day was thoroughly enjoyable and I was delighted I'd ventured away from home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.