Newcastle

One can only begin to imagine the objections to this bridge being built, given it's impact on nearby buildings - i.e. blocking the light - and the way it steamrollers its way into what would have otherwise been a perfect picture of period architecture. 

But now it's there and well-seasoned, I must admit that I rather like it.

We drove down to Newcastle from Edinburgh, this morning, stopping for coffee and bacon rolls on the way, dropped our bags at Motel One, and then set off on Bob's pub route.

We enjoyed the Tyne Bar and the Free Trade Inn, both of which the Minx and I visited on our recent trip, but then went to The Cumberland Arms, as featured in my Extra, with Ash at the bar.

I really liked it, although it was odd being there in the middle of the day and the only patrons, and I couldn't really judge whether it's a popular pub or not. Maybe it's absolutely heaving in the evenings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.