YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Bus Pass Walk

6 Bus Pass Walkers ventured to Skipton on 3 buses today.  Our first stop was a lovely cafe on Coach Street - iced latte for some and large carafes of iced water with cucumber to cool us down. We then walked between the canal and the river and into Skipton Woods as we needed some shade. Main photo of a stone bench with nature carvings. Other photos in extras.  I liked the plaque shown in extras which stated "With love - I ask you to sit here and enjoy nature. With love - I ask you to listen to the trees. With love - I hope you find peace and contentment." Sharon Elizabeth Kemp, Woodland Trust. I then rang a cafe I liked last time I was in Skipton (with my friend who needs gluten free food) to see if they could fit us in for lunch.  They could, and it was certainly one to put on the return list.  I had a crispy sweet potato stack with avocado and halloumi - just the right amount of spice, and accompanied by a large glass of triple mint iced tea.  Everyone had something different and I think it is safe to say we all enjoyed our choices.   After lunch we went back to the bus station with time to spare.  The previous bus must have been running late so we hopped on but only got just outside town before it overheated and broke down!  Luckily the bus we had intended to  catch was just behind so we transferred. Also on board was MC from our Am-Dram group.  Nice to see him looking so well.  Buses worked well and we got back into Keighley just in time to get the K4 "breadvan" bus back to the village. More refreshments to cool down and then home.  A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.