Frontier

By Frontier

Impromptu Movie Night

Halle Bailey - Part of Your World

The remake of the Little Mermaid came out today so I let my wife know about it and she bought tickets immediately, for a showing straight after work.

You’d definitely not see me at the front of the line for tickets, the Disney remakes aren’t really a go to for me. I’m more old school and always prefer the originals. Nonetheless, this was way above my expectations (they were low) and it was a fun movie I’d take my kids to see (if I had any).

The romance between Ariel and Prince Eric had more depth to it so Kiss the Girl was a lot more lively and emotional with more stakes. Melissa McCarthy was a shoe-in choice for the role, but she did look like she was phoning it it. When she was evil, she was good, and the potential to ham it up was missed potential. Glenn Close as Cruella in contrast was bloody amazing in relishing the evil fun for example and was worth a sequel for her.

The real standout was Halle Bailey. Awesome voice that enhanced the beloved songs. I hope she gets more roles in musicals, she’s got the pipes. The whole race issue is a matter of opinion, Halle has a great voice, hee acting fine, it sold the movie and was the core strength. You know what you’re in for with a Disney musical, so expecting adaptation “accuracy” isn’t really a thing. Disney’s Pinocchio wasn’t that but it was great. So yeah, not as bad as I expected, a nice night out.

I think the issue still stands regarding Disney remakes for me. With all the talent they have, would making an original real life musical be that much of a stretch?! Some of the new Pixar movies are excellent, Zootopia, Moana, and Soul were genuinely great movies. Making new real life musicals wouldn’t be something out of their wheel house. Well, I’m not Bob Eiger so I can’t comment, but if the critics and box office can certainly make a change.

Anyway, I had a good time and glad my wife was happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.