Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Head in the clouds

Today felt hotter than ever! Maybe not, but it just felt too uncomfortable to work outside, though I did another stint on the garden steps, leaving only a few hardly seen bits to paint. 

It was 22 in the shade this afternoon; I put the thermometer out in the sun and it went up to 51. The forecast says that it will be getting slightly cooler with a few drops of rain, but I'll believe it when I see it!

I went down to the Esplanade this afternoon to meet a friend from NTS days. She had a meeting at the Marine Laboratory this evening, so along with her contact there we enjoyed afternoon tea in the Oban Bay Hotel. It was good to catch up on the old days - she had a responsible position in the fund-raising department and we had many colleagues in common.

I parked the car in the cool, leafy car park behind the cathedral. My Blip today is of the top of the former Church of Scotland on the Esplanade as seen from the car park - I thought it looked rather good with a blue sky and fluffy clouds behind it. The building now houses a children's playgroup.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.