CrocusMan

By TonyG

Another Day in Paradise

It was a good option to stay overnight at Auberge Pont du Nant, deep in the valley, surrounded by mountains.  Opposite the Auberge is the botanic garden of the University of Lausanne, full to bursting with plants of the mountains from all around the globe.  I spent a couple of hours there this morning, catching up with a few old friends and discovering a few plants I had never come across before.   A gentler walk today along the Vallon du Nant, steep sided and often wooded.  Much evidence of the impact of avalanche and meltwater, the track destroyed in places.  The cows were ahead of me, some of the meadows well chomped but on the rocks especially were some lovely plants.  Todays star plant was Saxifraga paniculata, often as here growing on the rocks.   It's a good garden plant back in the UK, so a familiar friend!

As I returned from the far end of the Valley I spotted a few Chamois skittering down the slope ahead of me.   Soon joined by many others I had the privilege of watching  the herd for twenty minutes or so - an extra pic for Hilary.

Good company at the Auberge tonight, a fellow guest is involved with local biodiversity projects.  Lots of lively conversation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.