Diarised

By Diarised

Sun bathing

This water lily seemed to be hefting itself out of the water to find the sun. I was doing the opposite and seeking out the shade. I discovered a new route through a building to keep me mainly inside or in shade until I reached the woodlands - result!  Although I have worked on campus for such a long time I am always discovering new routes, partly because of new buildings and also because of various bits of redesign.

The work day passed in a flash. A colleague was ill so I offered to cover his duties as minute taker at a meeting. It turned out to be really interesting so my good deed was rewarded.  It didn’t take too long to sort the minutes either.  Then between a couple of other meetings and helping another colleague with some difficult enquiries, it was soon time to head home.

There was a near disaster when I heard a crash outside my office window and saw a metal letter (the R from the middle of our Forum building sign) fall off and crash to the floor.  It did that just before someone passed under it.  I think the heat must have done for the adhesive.  When we looked at the back of the sign it looked like it just had some sticky tape on it!  I had always assumed these were much more securely fixed than that.  It had been reattached previously so let’s hope Plan C is an improvement.

Sadly I also come across this poor bee caught in a web (extra).  There was no spider in sight either so it my have been an old web that trapped the poor thing which makes it seem even worse.  If only webs could catch just pesky wasps and let the bees through!

I am looking forward to an early start to the weekend.  I am working half day only on Friday so we can celebrate my Dad’s birthday and Leo’s last exam.  He has a Physics paper tomorrow morning and then he is free for the summer - lucky boy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.