Possibly the best

By Letters

Manjusri generally cuts through all the crap

My local MP has not been seen much recently. In fact I was quite surprised to hear him speak during a brief visit to the Commons in April 2012. Something about Libyan Aid if I recall correctly and how a few thousand pounds would solve the problems of the Middle East. Tony tried that a few years ago and look what happened.
The folk at Mena House struggled to decide which victor to back. Mind you I had just been at a rendering of the Messiah at the Albert Hall so possibly I was high on that and mistook the shire MP's eloquence for a sensible way forward. After all, his name is Bruce and he is a Liberal Democrat so that alone must count for something.
Thirty years in the job is something of a record. I have met the man a few times but am still completely stumped regarding what he actually does.

Nick Clegg, who also seems to have no public record of doing very much, says of the Right Honourable Malcolm "I want to know what Malcolm's diet is because he clearly eats or drinks something that keeps him forever young. He is one of the most energetic MPs in the House of Commons today much as he was when he entered the Commons 25 years ago. It is amazing to see him run in circles" What can Nick mean?

Mr Bruce has seemingly been "disappointed" by A90 safety findings, feels that this year's Queen's Speech will "quietly change and modernise the way we live" and recently took the Business Secretary Vince Cable on a tour of the Glen Garioch whisky distillery in Oldmeldrum which according to local drinkers makes possibly the most unpalatable whisky in the North East of Scotland.

On Friday 7th June 2013 at 7.15 (for 8pm) Sir Malcolm is hosting a gala dinner to celebrate his 30 years as MP for Gordon District. The good and the great will be there seemingly. The blurb on the poster says that the guest speakers on the evening will be "The Rt. Hon. Lord Steel of Aikwood, plus other special guests".
Its £50 a ticket though which might just cut a good few of his constituents who are suffering the effects of the bedroom tax. Mind you, for the money you get a free drink on arrival plus a 4-course dinner.

I noticed that a local councillor on being alerted to the celebratory dinner has decided not to attend. Seemingly he is washing his budgie on that day.

I seem not to have a current photo of the Right Honourable Sir Malcolm Bruce so here is one of Manjusri who is possibly the oldest and most significant bodhisattva in Mahayana literature.
In Tibetan Buddhism, Manjusri manifests in a number of different Tantric forms. Yamantaka (meaning 'terminator of Yama or Death') is the wrathful manifestation of Manjusri, popular within the Gelug school of Tibetan Buddhism. Other variations upon his traditional form as Manjusri include Guhya-Manjusri, Guhya-Manjuvajra, and Manjuswari. The two former appearances are generally accompanied by a shakti deity embracing the main figure, symbolising union of form and spirit, matter and energy.

Manjusri generally cuts through all the crap of humankind which is why the first thing I did on my return from Tibet was to buy a statue of him. Packed into a cardboard box, he and me and my two cats are moving to Keith soon. I am of course obliged to thank my "friends" in the shire whom I have not seen for a few months and in some cases a few years, for their undying support during my time of change. I look forward to new friendships. Tempted to say "Fuck the lot of you" but that is not in my nature.
Lets just say "Goodbye to all that".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.