Life Savors

By osuzanna

Champions of the World!

The day dragged and no one had much appetite as we were all feeling a bit stressed, but excited about the game at 5 pm.  We left early because we knew the traffic would be horrific.  

The first period of the game seemed to drag but the Knights were ahead 2-0 at the end.  In the second period the Knights took a three goal lead, and you could feel the tension and excitement building.  It was electric as everyone began to realize that there was a distinct possibility that they could clinch it, but no one wanted to say it. 

As the third period went on, and the Knights took a commanding lead, the roar in the building was unbelievable.  It is hard to describe the excitement and joy.  I have included a link here to a short Video which tells the story better than I can.  It is only 4 minutes long  and it is worth watching if for nothing else but the "handshake line" at 2:00, which is one of the finest traditions  in sports. 

My husband, daughter-in-law and I were sitting in the lower bowl with my son's two children aged 1 and 3 1/2.  When the game ended and the cup was presented, DIL went downstairs, as wives and children were allowed to go on the ice for pictures.  This part of the celebration went on forever and was a joy to watch. 

When all the ice celebration ended, we were all reunited in one of the arena lounges for a party.  I am not sure what time that ended, but we left after about an hour to take the children home to bed.  My son, his wife and two of his brothers stayed and then headed to the real celebration party held at one of the Las Vegas Nightclubs which was attended by all the players and staff.  The partying went on until after dawn and I did receive two videos from my son and his brother both drinking beer from the cup, (apparently a Stanley Cup tradition).  

I have included another shot in extra of my son hoisting the cup while on the Ice.  All our friends saw this and we received dozens of screen shots from them all, but this one was taken by me, and isn't the best but you will get the idea.  This is the most famous sports trophy in the world. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.