Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Lunch in Dame Street

A weird coincidence last week led me to contact an ex-colleague from work and we arranged to meet for lunch today. We ate in the Millstone restaurant on Dame Street. The food was passable, but the chat was terrific.

For the first time in ages I drove in to town and parked in Trinity Street, which was always my favourite spot. It's terribly rundown now, with the lifts especially in disgusting condition. I read some time ago that its days were numbered and there was talk of setting up an open-air cinema on the top two floors as a temporary measure. Perhaps it's been deliberately allowed to deteriorate since the owners don't want to pay for its upkeep.

I was early getting in to town so walked across to the re-opened plaza at what was the Central Bank building. The re-invention has taken a very, very long time, and still there's no word of when it will be complete and when the rooftop restaurant that's its main announced attraction will open.In the mean time, two units have opened at the lower level. I can't say I'm impressed with the choice of Krispy Kreme as one of these. Something a bit more up-market would surely be more appropriate for this prime location.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.