BGCoffee

By BGCoffee

We Escaped and Fled to Wales

We worked hard to leave our prison campsite as early as possible, partly because we had lunch booked in North Wales with Kevin, but also so we could pay a visit to Waitrose and buy some goodies for the weekend away.  I don't know if I am the only one, but SatNav's seem to have a mind of their own.  I'm not sure whether its just that AI isn't all it says it is, (I'm sure these days I could engage in an existential conversation with my SatNav if I wanted to, but I don't want to give it the satisfaction).  Anyway, not for the first time, we came close to the restaurant where we were to meet Kevin, and as we flew round a roundabout past a restaurant with a suspiciously similar name, I wondered why we were being directed into a housing estate where I'm pretty sure we didn't have a table booked.  I abandoned the electronic deceiver and chose to believe my own eyes and we had a successful lunch in the actual restaurant.  Both K and I had a delicious ham hock, chicken and Welsh cheese pie.

Anyway, on the way to being misled once again by Mr. TomTom, we stopped in on the famous longest names town in the UK,  Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch.  Funnily enough, a Welsh person taught me to pronounce this name and I have remembered it ever since.  What I didn't know was the somewhat loose translation in English - The Church of Mary In the Hollow of the White Hazel Near the Fierce Whirlpool and the Church of Tysilio by the Red Cave.  So there's that.

Anyway back to TomTom.  We arrived at the exact spot where the campsite was supposed to exist, but could decided that the inhabitants of the cottage outside which we were parked probably wouldn't appreciate us parking our van in their small garden.  So, shunning Tom, I opened Mr. Google Map, and proceeded down a new road opposite.  After about a minute, it told me to turn round and go back the other way, at which point it appeared the campsite was actually down a single lane about 20 yds behind where Tom had told us to go.  All I can imagine is that he thought - I'll show them - take them almost to the right place and get them completely confused.  Finally made it and set up in the lovely quiet campsite near Holyhead and had a lovely salad and sat in the cool occasionally rainy evening.  Great to rest and enjoy a time away in Anglesey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.