Piercing the Sky!

Since Medieval times, Salisbury Cathedral's Spire, at 404ft, has been a beacon, dominating the surrounding area. How pilgrims walking over, say, from Canterbury, via Winchester would have been greeted by this Shard of the 15th century.

Here, I am, about 6 miles away from it up on the 150m above sea level Dean Hill ridge that I referred to in my Under Dean Hill blip a couple of days ago. I am at pretty well the highest point in the area yet I am only still at eye level with the top of the Spire.

This is not my best picture ever but one I wanted to take and share. The surrounding fields and woods are possibly at their best right now and that is why I chose the original colour to the black and white copy I made. The clouds have been slightly dramatised more with selective contrast in Photoshop, to give it a bit more oomph and justification for the large area of sky - necessary to accentuate the Spire's height.

Lens is Tamron SP 70-300mm f4-5.6 VC

Look in LARGEfor extra detail!

Weekend 2 of the Salisbury Festival may well see Blips from that for a day or two. Hope everyone has a great Friday!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.