still trucking...

By johnsmiley1321

Just say water and my mom is there...

Well almost... It took a rental 4x4 so she could put her feet in the Yukon River in Alaska but we got her there. Another memorable trip with my parents.Sorry for the lousy photo, been a long day...

While I was at work in Oregon I got a text from my sister saying our mom ate 2 bites of solid food! The first food she has had in almost 48 hours. This afternoon I headed over to the hospital after work and grateful I did. they were transferring my mom out of critical care to the regular hospital. Now I would think with them knowing everything that was wrong they would have been a bit more gentle - but they slid her from one bed to another - and things were not good until serious pain meds kicked in about an hour later...

She was a bit more talkative today but most importantly hungry. So she asked for a toasted cheese sandwich, vanilla ice cream and apple juice. There is nothing more humbling than breaking a sandwich down to little pieces so she can chew them without the risk of choking. Anyhow she ate 1/4 of the sandwich, 5 spoonfuls of ice cream and the whole bottle of apple juice. PROGRESS!!!

 She still can't move her hands but does have more feeling in them. Still has a very hard time - but she can - life her legs very little. We know that on Monday she will have her first surgery. On Wednesday she will have her second surgery. If all goes as planned, she will stay in the hospital for several weeks to recover - see how much it helped and then go from there.

Tonight I finally sat down and called several of her friends that have been in the dark. They were wondering what was going on. My sister has been updating family members. Tomorrow I will gather some legal paperwork, spend some time with my mom and it looks like my nephew might stop by and see his grandma too. Another bit of happiness..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.