What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Good Old Ken

I attended the funeral of one of my old guests today - Ken Hoyle, also Blipper KenH.

Ken first came on my workshops back on the 2000s, came to Tuscany with me in the early 2010s - and in fact managed at least 5 Tuscany trips with me. He was on my first USA workshop in 2013, and even joined me on my Honeymoon / Canada Workshop in 2018 - his last overseas trip.

He came to LPH for many of the Appleby / Beer Festival weeks too - always had a great time. 

Sadly, heart issues and strokes came during Covid, and he was in a home for a while, but he did recover sufficiently to go back to his own home, where he lived quietly until the end.

His Funeral was held in Lytham, I set off early in case of traffic, and did indeed get held up for about 45 minutes. ~But arrived in very good time for his funeral. Sadly, some of his family travelling from Yorkshire weren't so lucky, and got severely delayed, so never made it.

There were 7 people at the crematorium, so I was especially glad to have made it to pay my respects. Those of you (and most LPH regulars will have known Ken) who knew him will remember his cheeky smile, great sense of humour, and keenness for photography.

RIP mate - you were a fabulous friend, and so many of us will miss you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.