MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

A walk in the park

Cooler this morning, thank goodness. Decided to walk to Sherdley Park and have a walk in there, plus scope out some sites for some geocaches.  I've had caches in the park previously but not in recent years. As I walk there regularly, it seems logical to have a few geocaches there.
I took the GPSr and planned a few hides and I'd walk quite a long way (including the walk from home to the park) so i rang Terry to cadge a lift and asked him to pick me up at the Elton Head Road entrance a few minutes after 1pm.
I was looking for a hide in a wooded area (last one before heading to pick up point) when a bloke appeared from nowhere and I normally chat to people I bump into while walking so I said hello but I got bad vibes about him. I could be wrong, as he could be perfectly OK but I couldn't get rid of him - he had stopped to chat and was continuing it past comfort level. I said I was just passing time till my partner came for me and I had better go as he wouldn't be long but this guy seemed to want to go the way I wanted to but not yet - still chatting. So I politely said my goodbye and walked briskly in the opposite direction to where he had been going - and me! 
I disappeared out of his view and spent about 5 more minutes before going back to the path and out he popped again so I left the wooded area completely for the open field where there were lots of other people (it was fairly close to the path in the wooded area) then headed off to meet Terry. I might be over-reacting as he seemed to me like he could have learning disabilities but I wasn't taking any chances!
This spoiled the end of my walk some as I wanted to plan at least 1 more geocache site, maybe 2 or even 3, along my walk but I probably wouldn't have had time for all that.
I've had a look at the ones I planned and I think I know where I want to place the others and none are in that particular area! I will, go back maybe tomorrow or the day after - depends on weather.
There is a party next door as I type this. A teenagers' party! Our neighbours asked us if we'd mind - of course not, they are very good neighbours and one night of noise is no hardship. We are night owls anyway and it's rare for us to go to bed before 1am.
I keep hearing balloons bursting and I don't think they are blowing them up for decoration!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.