La pointe de Bilfot, Plouézec

Hazy sunshine today! Olga came for our French lesson this morning and we finished off our DELF A2 test. She will be back tonight with Roland for dinner, and during the oral part of the test, I managed to elicit some information which we'll make good use of later.

The house is looking somewhat cleaner and tidier, just a bit more to do before this evening. Alice is looking forward to them coming. She seems to enjoy their company, and also seems much more comfortable conversing with adults in French now.

I didn't want to spend the whole day inside, so after taking Alice back to school, we drove to la pointe de Bilfot at Plouézec where I took this photo. The panorama here is beautiful, but it was a bit too hazy for the distance shots. M just sat and enjoyed the view, the peace, the birds, the warmth of the sun, whilst I walked/tripped/slipped/clambered down the path towards the sea. Not a place I would like to have taken M or Alice. I got my blip though! Then it was a hard slog/climb back up again.

As we were leaving, I stopped at a war memorial. It marked the occasion of a British invasive attack ("Opération Fahrenheit") on the Nazi post on the headland in November 1942, and also the death of an RAF pilot in March 1943.

Back home for home and meal preparations!

More photos on my blog.

As we walked home after a coffee and collecting Alice at the village café, we walked past the village church. I heard a loud buzzing sound... then looked up at the church looming above us. Thousands of swarming, buzzing insects! I don't know if they were bees or wasps, but I wasn't keen to stay around to find out. I hope they find somewhere further away to nest!

Olga and Roland seemed to enjoy their authentic roast beef with "les rosbifs", complete with yorkshire puddings. They seemed to enjoy trying out the British fare on offer rather than the French alternatives such as Heinz salad cream instead of vinaigrette. The gâche melée seemed to go down ok too, although perhaps I'd use more apples if there's a next time. Conversation was all in French of course, although we reverted to English when we needed help from Olga. They pointed out that I told them I'd spelt the potatoes, when I thought I'd said I'd peeled them :-) A good evening in good company :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.