Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Father's Day

It was not so unbearably hot today, what a relief. Poor Adam slept badly due to jetlag, an 8 hour difference takes a few days to adjust to. My sister and I walked Xena in the woods while Adam exercised and Gavin did some work.

We fetched Luke from the station and then went to Gavin's golf club for Father's day lunch - they put on an amazing Sunday buffet, the boys love eating there - amongst other things they have oysters, prawns, smoked salmon and delicious salads for starters and then a very tasty roast lunch with many choices, and as for the puddings, they are delicious! 

It was a pity that Tommy could not join us but it is May Week (even though it occurs in June) at university, which is their annual week of balls and garden parties after exams, and he had tickets to a garden party today. I got sad when we realised that this is the last Father's Day that Adam will be able to join us in a while - working in the USA with their ridiculously ungenerous leave policy he will not get back here that often, so we will have to brave the long flight and awful jet lag to go see him there (and California is not high on my list of places I want to travel to, but needs must if I want to see my son!)

After lunch we came home and then Luke and Adam went home by train. Adam had to take his huge suitcase, backpack and golf clubs on the train to London, then on the tube across to Kings Cross and then the train to Cambridge. Not easy lugging all of that on public transport but as I am going to Cambridge on Tuesday with my sister to see Tommy I will take his golf clubs then, which will make his journey today a bit easier.

I then planned what my sister and I are doing this week. I had tickets booked to visit The Shard but they sent an email a few days ago cancelling our booking as apparently there is a technical problem and the lift is out of order for at least 8 weeks - not great in their busiest tourist period! So we sat deciding what to do instead and we decided on a Thames cruise.

It was forecast to be stormy with rain today - instead it has been hot and dry all day, and only now it is raining very lightly. The grass is already going white and everything is looking so dry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.