David J. Rose

By djrose007

Cloth House tower

Had a good nights sleep, after along day riding and having been up since 04:30.
Rained all morning, as well as during the night, which quashed our initial plans. Sun came out early afternoon so we walked around Ieper, had lunch, and visited a local CWGC military cemetery no far from the centre.
Later, I went to find St George's Memorial Chapel, a remarkable place which is packed with memorials and even embroidered kneeling pads, on every seat, with military insignia.
I took lots, and lots, of photos but I plumped for this one taken after I had walked through the park which is on top of the Menin Gate. It runs along the top of the original town fortifications.
It is the tower of the Cloth House.
Because I'm using my phone I can only post one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.