ciorstain

By ciorstain

OBAN!

Woohoo - we left Glasgow for a change.

We decided yesterday that today was play no work and we set off to Oban just before midday.
Yes - we planned earlier but it did not happen.
I had realised I had not been to Oban for 7 years!!!
Seriously - I was shocked!

I used to be in Oban all the time.

We too the scenic route and stopped at Loch Fyne to get some salmon before driving along the beautiful Loch Awe to Oban.
Oban was busy - as expected on such a lovely day.
It was a bit cooler and there were a few drops of rain - but it still was lovely.
We had a coffee at Hinba ... the coffee roasters in Oban ... owners of Glasgow's Hinba where I was yesterday.
Great coffee - but the staff was super stressed.
Then we had the obligatory run through Rogerson's shoes before heading to the Ferry Terminal.
The famous Seafood hut :) - my main reason why I love Oban so much!
I know the hut since 20 odd years.
I used to go there before heading on the ferry to Loch Boisdale. Many many times.
Their prawn and carb sandwiches are otherworldly.
They have expanded over the years. You now get all sorts of seafood there - cooked on site even - but still basic and on wobbly one way dishes.
But awesome!!
I had a huge pile of razor clams cooked in garlic butter for 13 pounds! 

I would not be able to buy this amount in a shop for that money.
Sooo tasty.
I got a prawn sandwich for later ... :)

We went for a wander, Neil got som fish sans chips which we had on the pier, we browsed the charity shops and estate agent, had an ice cream before we headed back home.

I took the same rout via Inveraray and it was such a lovely drive.

I also skipped Great Western Road both ways and took the motorway to Erskine Bridge which was a revelation. 
Such a more pleasant drive than going A82 out of Glasgow ... with all the thousand traffic lights, roundabouts and speed limits!

We were home around 8 pm and went for a drink to the brew house in Queen Margaret drive before heading home.

Neil went out with a bunch of friends to go to the Cat house - I chilled on the couch and ate my prawn sandwich - which was even better than I remembered ....

Blipping our view at the pier - with foreground 

The fish hut is in the extras plus some more 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.