Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

According to Alice…

…we always had Strawberries in time for Wimbledon.  Since I care more about the ruddy Wombles than the Tennis I had to check:-
"The tournament traditionally takes place over two weeks in late June and early July, starting on the last Monday in June and culminating with the Ladies' and Gentlemen's Singles Finals, scheduled for the Saturday and Sunday at the end of the second week."  
This year "Wimbledon 2023 will begin on Monday 3rd July 2023 and run until the men's singles final on Sunday 16th July 2023."  By which time I'll probably have scoffed the lot.
   Last "Jerraday" I observed that I'd better cover them, before the birds attacked.  There wasn't a ripe one in sight; ≈10days of heatwave did the trick.  I'm surprised they're so juicy,  must be judicious application of the "Leaky Hose".   You'll notice the net doesn't keep the mad marauding molluscs at bay.  By an odd coincidence it was the last one I picked up.  Not to be thwarted, I sliced off the slugged bit & enjoyed what was left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.