That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Holiday Planning?

The map was purchased in 1963 while I, as a recent 'O' level student, was spending time with my French penfriend at her home in the area of La Rochelle. With her family and friends we undertook a car journey of some 1100 miles over four days, from the west coast south and back over an anti-clockwise circular route. I marked the map afterwards with as many places through which we drove, though I expect that there will be a great many changes and innovations - the famous bridge at Millau, for example..

For many years I have wished to see more of these areas that we whizzed through so dug out the map and my diary of that month's stay. Sadly, most entries refer to meals and letter-writing to family and very little detail of the way of life of my hosts. While searching out the diary I came across the book about Provence, which belonged to Mr Flum's mother and which would prove useful, had it it contained a map of the interesting places featured.

Whether we go or not there will be some interesting research to be done in the near future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.