Endless Weekend

By Endless_Weekend

My Dad

My dad was born in Brooklyn in 1914 and passed away here in Seattle in 2004.  He was born profoundly hearing-impaired and went to school at the New York School for the Deaf where he made many friends, learned sign-language and the trade of printing.  He was hard-working and he loved his job designing and selling labels for a small company in Manhattan.  After 34 years, the company was sold and he found himself looking for work. A scary time for all of us, but his friends had contacts and he wound up in a good job as a proofreader for his last years.  

He founded a deaf Boy Scout troop when he was young and was an eagle scout himself.  His "boys" became his friends and some were around to celebrate his 85th birthday where they lived in Florida. I'd say he had a good life. He built all of the furniture and cabinetry in the house I grew up in and he was very handy in many ways. I was by his side in his workshop when I was young and learned a lot about how to do things from him.

To Izzy, where ever you may be...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.