Marking Time

By Libra

Bespoke scarves

Working in silk and cashmere is the ultimate luxury, and textile designer/weaver Katherine Cowtan does both.
 
I visited her studio and workshop in Fintry, a secluded village in central Scotland, where she demonstrated some of her processes. (See instagram of her weaving).
 
She very kindly offered me the chance to try weaving myself but for once I declined the opportunity for a new experience.  I was keen to get some photos inside her studio, which was saturated, in autumnal colours. She starts by painting the local countryside in autumn then works out a colour palette for her scarves. (see extra).
 
Once she is satisfied with the design and finished product she then sends it to a mill in the Borders for production.
 
Finally she modelled one of her scarves (see extra).
For more information about her work check out www.katherinecowtan.co.uk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.