Living my dream

By Mima

Going commando

Bean always goes without underwear. And I'm following her lead. 

The shingles rash has spread from my right hip right across my midriff and looks set to cover my torso to my breasts. Wearing anything tight in the vicinity is painful. 

Fortunately, as I'm in voluntary isolation, I figure I can safely surprise nobody by wearing my baggiest, softest and loosest grey cotton summer pyjama bottoms, and an old baggy dark blue cotton blouse. Thick grey socks and a capacious blue and green cardigan (think Starsky*) complete this delightful picture. I am warm and as comfortable as can be in the circumstances.

Don't feel too sorry for me. It is just possible that I have started the meds quickly enough to fend off the worst of the pain that shingles can offer. I'm not counting my chickens just yet, but I am counting my blessings that so far it's been only an occasionally painful experience.

The neighbours who haven't had chickenpox have been advised to keep their distance. (I can infect people with chickenpox, but not with shingles.) And those that have had it, are all set to be my library and shopping slaves for the next 10 days or so. They're a good bunch of folk.

The funniest moment of the day was as I woke up. Bean jumped up onto the bed and lay a little too heavily on the sore area. I had to ask her to move - using my serious voice. She hopped over to the other side, lay with her head next to mine on the pillow and squeaked gently while tentatively wagging her tail. She made me snort with laughter, which of course resulted in full-on windmill wagging. We got up. 

Laughter is a good way to start the day in any circumstances. There may be quite a few Bean Blips in the next wee while...


* = "Starsky and Hutch" was a US cop series in the 1970s in which one of the main protagonists wore large bold chunky cardigans. They were very popular amongst teenagers of my era. Dad thought it was a 'ridiculous' programme which he insisted on mis-naming "Stinky Hitch"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.