ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Coming to take us home

The journey home was mostly the opposite of the journey out, with one exception - a long wait for baggage.... We made things easier for ourselves by getting up well before the crack of dawn (although of course it was already light....) and getting to the airport in plenty of time. Queues and delays were minimal which meant we had a long time to wait in the airport, but - hey - there are worse places to wait than the fairly new non-Schengen terminal in Helsinki airport. The new departure and check-in zone (and security area where liquids and laptops do not need to come out) is also a huge improvement upon what was there before.

Smooth journey and early landing. As I said, the only delay was waiting for the baggage. I also navigated the challenges of getting a City Cab in the taxi nonsense that is now Edinburgh airport. The whole area around the airport was crazy with traffic, a lot of it to do with the Royal Highland Show set up.

Anyway, back here more or less at the beginning of the working day, I was able to get on with a mix of work and domestic stuff, clearing my inbox, a few meetings, and doing the washing. And other exciting things.

Shortly after 6pm I cycled off to M's for book group. I haven't recalibrated the times for different distances yet. I made it to Shandon in less than half an hour, and on the road coming back made it in 22 minutes! Consequently, I turned up at M's rather early.

A good evening, although by then I was a bit hysterical with tiredness.... I took my hat and showed it off. It saves my brain that others have written about the evening. By the time I went to bed, I had been up for 20 hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.