Beinghere

By Beinghere

Newburn Church

…. near Colinsburgh.
Originally consecrated in 1243 only the east end remains of this tiny medieval church. The rest of the building dates from the 17th and 18th centuries.
I just heard about this lovely old ruined church a few days ago, so was keen to check it out. It’s only a few miles away so easy to get to, but on a back road I’ve never used.
An early start to the day, as Maggie got up just after 6am. Full of the joys of life, let’s feed the birds, let’s have breakfast, come-on Nana, it’s morning! Im not at all a morning person, I’m a night owl!
Three hours later she was deposited at nursery and I went to see Mitch before his hospital appointment. He’d been up most of the night worried. I completely get it, I’d be the same. He’s expecting some tests today and was told to bring an overnight bag. His friend arrived soon afterwards to run him to Ninewells.
Geordie and I left to visit the above church, then walk in the woods, where I picked lots of elderflowers for cordial. Had a hot chocolate at the Mirador Cafe at the caravan park beside the woods before heading home. Stopped off at the Co-op to get sugar and lemons on the way home.
I made the syrup, then added the washed elderflowers with the lemons and citric acid, and left it to steep for 24 hours. The aroma is lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.