Bom

By Bom

Still Learning

The blue tit fledglings are still learning how to look after themselves, nearly getting it right now. I've added another photo as an Extra. They're definitely more wary of people now. When I saw this fledgling tackling the feeder in a peculiar way, it reminded me of this quote from Winnie the Pooh, with Christopher Robin pulling his teddy bear down the stairs by it's arm:

'Here is Edward Bear, coming downstairs now, bump, bump, bump on the back of his head, behind Christopher Robin. It is, as far as he knows, the only way of coming downstairs, but sometimes he feels that there really is another way, if only he could stop bumping for a moment and think about it.'

I took this photo early as rain / thunder was forecast for most of the day, in reality we had some light rain this morning and it's been a warm and sunny late afternoon. I was in town this morning for a haircut, then had to sort out my home insurance renewal with John Lewis. I'd received the renewal pack with loads of information, but it didn't include the renewal quote - the key bit - as I'd opted out of receiving marketing information. Evidently a recent regulatory change that the renewal notice is now deemed to be marketing - quite a bizarre one if true (I might write to Martin Lewis). I tried to reduce the premium by adding a voluntary £100 excess to several elements, but as that only made a £20 difference in total to the premium, I didn't change anything (except to sign in to Marketing to get my renewal quote next year).  An enjoyable afternoon watching the coverage of the tennis at Queens. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.