MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Common Yellow Conch

I had an errand to do and didn't want to leave Mishka behind so took the van. We had the windows down completely as there is no air con in the Kangoo. When we got to Hertford I could smell a familiar, foetid, musty, mousey odour. This smell immediately reminds me of when I had norovirus in 2019. The nausea first came on when I was walking at Fishers Green where hemlock grows in profusion. At the time I at first thought the nausea was caused by the hemlock. This horrible, tall umbellifer has colonised the hedgerows through Hertford and is growing rampantly along the A1. We were not free of the smell all the way to Letchworth. I never noticed it when I used to drive up and down this road in my convertible. I wonder why it has proliferated. I wonder if there are any plans to eradicate it as it's poisonous to animals and humans. (I didn't stop to get a pic of the hemlock plants so haven't included an image of it in my blip.) 

I was so touched by how excited Mishka was when we got back indoors. She loves her home. :)

I've posted this common yellow conch moth as it's the first time I have seen and captured one. Its larvae feed on thistles. It is perched on hogweed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.