eyesee

By davidc

Tiny Tuesday (Not for Arachnophobes...!)

My Editor spotted this little creature in a cupboard in the attic, and kindly asked me if I wanted to blip it today. Well why not? The main reason "why not" was that it was still alive and a bit active, especially when illuminated. So my initial idea of doing a focus stack on it was sadly impossible owing to it moving so much, so I had to catch it rather quickly with a single exposure (which took several goes!). I was using my macro lens plus 2x converter plus extension tubes so getting flash to it was a tad tricky (I don't have a ring flash) - hence the high ISO and consequent slight graininess (ameliorated with Topaz software).

It definitely had 8 legs and no wings so it must be an arachnid. We thought it might be a Harvestman, but when I looked that up I realised that the presence of a "waist" between its head and body rules that out. So I think it's a "Cellar Spider" - rather confusing as it was in the attic and we don't have a cellar!!

Thanks again to Jensphotos for hosting TT this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.