StephenF

By StephenF

Neo-colonial Chobham

I'm not sure it is accurate to describe this architectural style as neo-colonial but it does remind me of buildings I saw in Australia  - in Hobart and Sydney. Checking this on Wikipedia I note that the Australian description is Victorian Georgian. I suspect the building in Chobham is nowhere near that old. It was a restaurant - The Green Olive - when we moved here and was very nice and apparently successful. However, it then changed hands and became The Park restaurant but didn't remain in business very long. It has been empty for several years now, which is surprising given its prime position with a Tesco convenience store on one side and the Village Hall on the other. It is also opposite Chobham recreation ground. However, I note another empty building in the village, the corrugated iron Gospel Hall (see blip for 3/4/2021), is now subject to a planning application for replacement by a detached house. It's a tiny plot so it will be interesting to see what gets built there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.