Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Remnants

We visited Shugborough Hall today which was taken back into full ownership by the National Trust in 2016 following use by the local council since 1960.  There's a lot of remedial work going on, including, I suspect, heavy 'pruning' of the ivy which obviously previously engulfed these buildings but it will be interesting to revisit and see what comes about. 

Beforehand, Berry had a good romp along the fringes of Cannock Chase but I was wary of signs informing the public not to stray off the paths due to risk of mining subsidence :-0 It kind of put a bit of a damper on an already damp day!

We saw Berry into her kennels (I do hate doing it but we really have no alternative) and then rolled up to S&D for the evening. They finally received their wedding present from us which was a painted glass light of the beach where they got engaged, made by the Orcadian glass artist Carrie Paxton. She does the most lovely work and excelled herself with this special gift. Chris and I still have the engraved glass goblet that my parents gave to us and I hope they treasure it in the same way. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.