Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Covered in Colors

Travelled by train to the city of Liège in Belgium and arrived at this colorful railway station Gare des Guillemins (Wilhelmites, a derival from William). 

I'd occasionally passed from this city by car, but never wandered thro' it and never visited it like today. Its railway station surprised me as very modern and colorful. But then I learned from the catalogue that this color display is temporarily; it's artwork realized by French conceptional artist Daniel Buren, it will last only till October 14th this year. Such a pity, coz it looks gorgeous as it is now and the city thrives on these bright colors, I think. 
The half day I was there is way too short for a total impression; there was a lot of traffic rerouting due to works on making new tramways. And lots of litterbags on the streets, I don't know if that's normal, or result of a strike. And like in all big cities, lots of people on the streets; people from whatever ethnic background as half the population of this city has roots from abroad. A gloomy day in that grey city would depress me, so I should get back there one other sunny day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.