Acts of deliberate notice

By Yaviere

Hive of activity

Solstice blessings to one and all!

I was up early this morning to watch the sunrise from the top of the hill. A rather grey start and I didn't see the sun himself, but I did spot a pyramid orchid in the meadow, which I have never seen up there before.

After a little more sleep and a slow start, D and I went out for a long walk gathering our Midsummer bouquet. I'm not sure what all the flowers are this time as there were some my book couldn't identify, but we have daisies, buttercups, common speedwell, chamomile, mallow, meadowsweet, clover and herb robert, plus one tiny unnamed pink thing. 

On the way home, we discovered that one of the bird boxes in the local  woods has become home to a thriving hive of buzzing bees! They're nice and high up so not a bother to anybody, and they seemed so happy going in and out on their beeish business.

This afternoon I am baking an orange and tarragon cake, while D makes a foccacia for dinner. I will be decorating it with chopped up vegetables to look like some of the flowers we saw earlier. Then this evening we plan to head out to watch the sunrise and maybe see some bats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.