Keith B

By keibr

A day of swimming

We woke up this morning at Lörudden and before breakfast I decided to take a quick dip in the sea.  A few days ago the sea was 12°C and that was definitely too cold, but we'd chatted yesterday evening with a woman who'd just been in for a dip and she thought it was okay, around 15°C.
My thermometer showed she was very accurate because it was indeed 15°C. I sat on the bottom step and launched myself into the water. It was very cold, not okay! I waited just long enough for Jan to take a picture (proof!!) and I got out as quick as I could.
Once up on the warm rocks in the sun it seemed okay. We went back and ate breakfast, then got ready to drive off. "Maybe it wasn't that bad" I thought and decided to give it another go. It was still very cold but I stayed in a little longer, and felt even better as I warmed up on the rocks.  Maybe I could get used to it...
Our destination for tonight was Sunnet, a place I've already blipped several times and a favourite overnight spot.
Soon after arrival I took my third swim of the day, this time in fresh water, and at 23°C it was a really pleasant experience, and a bit later I happily repeated the experience with Jan along.
This group of kayakers arrived a little later. They were a local group who paddle every Wednesday in different places and today Sunnet was their chosen site. This picture goes rather well with Jan's blip, which catches them as they were preparing to get onto Hultsjön (Hult lake).
This is a lovely spot and seems really well used. It's great for families because it is really shallow where you swim/play with a natural sandy bottom. Tonight it is now quiet and there are just three campers here, but until a short time ago there was always the happy shrieking of children as various families arrived, stayed a while and then returned home. Now it's getting on for 10 o'clock and has cooled down a fair bit, so maybe the small children are happily asleep.
The south of Sweden is starting to talk of water shortages as this drought continues but up here we've no worries.  We feel so lucky to live in a place with plenty of water, and clean water at that. If I swallowed a mouthful of this lake as I swam I wouldn't need to worry at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.