ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'De Poelenburg', Zaandam

'Poelenburg' = 'POOL-un-burg'.

A 2-in-1 shot!  The Poelenburg is the green windmill.
Poelenburg was the name of the previous windmill, which was built ca. 1730.  It burned down in 1903, so they transferred THIS mill from another place to this same spot.  Before it was moved here, it was called 'De Locomotief', perhaps because its vanes could rotate very fast?  'De Locomotief' was built in 1866.  I now wonder why those who decided on the move did not simply stick with 'De Locomotief'.  After all, if the original 'Poelenburg' had burnt down completely and could no longer be restored at all, there would logically be no more reason to use the name.  Poelenburg was the name of the man who had built the previous mill, and I suppose he must have been important enough so that his name is considered to have more historical value than 'De Locomotief'.  Not my problem, but I still find the protocol rather strange.  Even more strange is the fact that the full name of the mill is actually 'De Gekroonde Poelenburg' = 'The Crowned Poelenburg', because of a little crown somewhere near the top.  No one knows why it was put there.

Anyway, calling it by its present name, this Poelenburg is actually a sawmill.  Naturally, as this was shot after the afternoon rush hour, the demonstration area and shop were already closed.  That didn't matter, of course, as I came only for the mill, and the Zaanse Schans is most beautiful to visit after office hours, when the crowds have gone.

A slow morning, during which I checked my work mail and signed off for the last time.  At 12.40, Gubs picked up AW and they went to Alkmaar together, where Gubs bought a camper, which is why AW had to come along -- he had to drive Gubs's car on the way back so that Gubs could drive the camper.

In the meantime, I had to go to work to meet with Guilford Guy and Gina for the last time.  The boss gave me a lovely bouquet which I will shoot tomorrow, as well as a box of Rituals skin care products (a popular gift choice here) which I will keep in its wrapper so that I can give it in turn to someone else on an anniversary or birthday.  I did think for a moment of shooting one last mural, but, somehow, I was too sad to do it.  It was and is a fabulous place to work in.  Then again, I do not have to miss it.  When the schoolyear opens again, I can always eat there, with or without AW, and Gina has said that she will definitely give me a call whenever the restaurant needs clients (the students have to practice, of course), at which times the meals will be free.  If I have nothing else planned, I will be sure to come.

After school, went back home, and the heat made my head heavy as the afternoon wore on, so had a short nap, and it was very late when I left to go hunting.  I did not eat first and thought I'd just open the proverbial can when I got back.  AW returned almost at the same time I did and it turned out that he hadn't yet eaten either because the restaurant Gubs wanted to take him to was closed.  We ended up having dinner together after all, yesterday's leftovers.

Thankful for a beautiful Summer Solstice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.