GenuineBlip

By GenuineBlip

"Do you believe in Karma?"

I drove to the natural foods grocery store to get some hot soup for my sick husband.   As I put the cartons of soup on the floor of the back seat, then as I am backing out of the parking space to leave  this guy starts yelling at me, accusing me of 'banging into' his new truck.  He stands in front of my car to prevent me from driving.  I got out of the car, and inspected the rear of his truck.  I swear to god, I could only see my reflection in the shiny bumper - there was no dent, barely a hint of a smudge. I do notice that this guy is from Sacramento and he intentionally parks his brand new $50,000 sparkling white super duty Fx4 Ford F150 truck, in two spaces to protect it, and it is so supersized that the rear of the truck hangs well past the end of the space.  I did not hit this guys truck, in fact I'm thinking that Big Truck Man backed into my car and is trying to blame me!     He called the cops  claiming that I was trying to flee the scene of an "accident" and I called the cops because there was a crazy man accusing me of a non-existent 'fender bender' and not letting me drive.  The cops came, took our information, 'big truck guy' called his insurance representative and sent pictures. The cops were very calm and managed the whole incident very well.  I felt like the kid yelling that 'the emperor has no clothes'.  "But there is no dent!" The cop agreed, that it was a very, very, barely discernible smudge, but that it was clearly very important to this guy.  "But this is such a waste of your time!"  "We are here to keep the peace, ma'am." Some time later, after the guy talks on the phone to his 'representative', he talks to the cops, who then talk to each other...and then the 30-something cop comes over to me and asks, "Do you believe in Karma?"  "Uh, well, I believe that we reap what we sow".  The young cop informs me that "Big Truck guy" has decided to not file a claim,  his Progressive insurance representative (and the cops) advised him that filing an insurance claim for a hint of a smudge on the Big Truck Bumper was really not worth the effort, anyone's effort.  Karma.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.