While on my runs

By waipushrink

Morning of the Winter Solstice

I woke five minutes before the alarm was due to wake me. An unhurried breakfast and away to drive my new route to the community centre. I was conscious that the rain that started just before I left would probably mean that the solstice sunrise would be unseen.

I paused on Dominion Road for a couple of photos. Had the exposure quite wrong and just had a great flare of light. 

Turned into the back route to the Centre and the clouds had cleared enough for the Sky Tower to show off its colours and height. Didn't notice the stuff in the foreground ruining the picture.

The sun had well risen and I had already dealt with a number of the tasks ahead when I noticed the sky changing from the office window. I was able to get this photo through the glass of the window.

The nights will gradually shorten as the days lengthen correspondingly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.