Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Agapanthia villosoviridescens

A very busy day of public engagement, which started with me leading a walk round Collyweston Quarries NR with Pete. Perfect weather on a perfect site, with sheets of deep yellow Dyer's Greenweed and plenty of other interesting limestone grassland plants and insects to see.

The afternoon was occupies by the Langdyke Countryside Trust AGM. After the proceedings were over I helped to lead another rather steamy walk round Vergette's Meadow, where the sheets of Ox-eye Daisy and Rough Hawk's-beard were attracting plenty of insects.

This wonderful longhorn beetle, whose larvae mine the stems of stout umbellifers such as Hogweed, was my favourite insect of the day. It now has an English name, Golden-bloomed Grey Longhorn, but I much prefer the Latin name I learnt many years ago, Agapanthia villosoviridescens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.