a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Misplaced

The delightfully coloured Rosemary Beetle seems to have misplaced itself, as it was busy laying eggs on the lavender in the back garden  today.  Our rosemary is growing in the front garden, although I've not checked and it's possible that it has already laid eggs there too.

I haven't had the macro gear out for a while, but with Glastonbury making the Avalon reserves trickier to get to, it seemed wise not to go too far from home.  

The extra shows the exuvia of the monster that must have emerged while I was away at the weekend.  It's quite impressively large and I'm wondering whether, just possibly, it's from the Southern Hawker female that was ovipositing a couple of years ago.  There are actually two of these exuvia, (so that's two I've missed).   I think that its too much to hope that there will be any more emergences of these dragons this year, given the small size of the pond, but I will be keeping an eye out for the next few days, just in case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.