Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Piano forte

I’ve taken the afternoon off to practice my piano playing.
I’ve been playing (again after a 35 year break) for 2,5 years now, and although my teacher says otherwise, in my opinion I’m not making enough progress. That frustrates me.

What am I doing wrong?
I want too fast, is the common answer and deep down I know that’s true. But I’m going so slow already!

And maybe I’m jumping too much from one piece to another, but playing the same thing over and over again is boring as well.

Therefore I’ve been concentrating on 3 pieces now, this afternoon. All with some normal tempo parts ( these I can play) but also with very fast parts as well. Those fast parts I’ve been playing and repeating very slow and even slower. And fast of course, but there things go wrong.
So, slower again. SLOW!

I must confess it was quite fun to experience I now cán do them slow. In a few days I should be able to go a bit faster.
But for now SLOW is the magic word.

Once I can play a piece the way it should be played, fase two comes around the corner: playing it by head and improvising on the chords.
Being a sight reader, that’s even more difficult for me. But Jan Meiborg is teaching me all that, in small steps.Tonight I have another lesson in Groningen. Looking forward to it, although I must confess I’ve been thinking about quitting my lessons recently. That’s one of the reasons l took the afternoon off, to think that over as well.
Don’t think I will quit just yet, I’ll give it another year.

In the photo there are 2 pianos.
The left one is the one I grew up with and played on as a child. This one has become very special to me now. It’s a bit out of tune at the moment.

The other one is a digital one, I can plug headphones in it. That’s the reason I bought it in the first place. I don’t need audiences and neighbors listening along all the time. Especially during the summertime when the doors and windows are open.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.