pandieb

By pandieb

Remembering

We finally got home about 0230 this morning (it should have been no later than midnight) and to bed by about 0330, by the time we'd opened some windows, fed the cats (I've no idea what meal it was but they were very insistent) and I'd had a cup of tea. Obviously the birds started singing about an hour later as it got light but I managed to stay asleep (ish) until just before seven. The pilot missed his slot, probably because of the complete chaos that was boarding, so we ended up sitting on the tarmac for an extra hour. Then there were no taxis (it's an airport F*S, there should always be taxis) so we had to wait 30 mins for a train. Luckily I live on the Gatwick line so that bit was easy. I should also apologise to the cab driver at the other end, I was so tired by then I forgot to tip him.

Anyway, that saga over, today has been a day of the usual washing and rescuing the garden. No.1 did ok (I'm not sure how she managed to break a garden chair) and there weren't too many casualties. I'm hoping the allotment is the same as I haven't had the energy to go up there yet and I'm in the office tomorrow.

I heard some very sad news this afternoon, which I wasn't expecting. I know it's the wrong sort of poppy for remembrance but I thought it fitting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.